Free and open-source.

Receives regular software and kernel updates.

Avoids X11.

The notable exception is Qubes, but the isolation issues which X11 typically has are avoided by virtualization. This isolation only applies to apps running in different qubes (virtual machines), apps running in the same qube are not protected from each other.

Supports full-disk encryption during installation.

Doesn’t freeze regular releases for more than 1 year.

We recommend against “Long Term Support” or “stable” distro releases for desktop usage.

Supports a wide variety of hardware.

Preference towards larger projects.

Edit: I’m new to linux

• @infinitevalence
    link
    English
    110 months ago

Interesting… I saw that there were some controversies but honestly if I avoided everything in my life over every little bit of bad press or disagreement I would have nothing left to eat and nowhere to live.

I am not sure why any distro that attracts new users is an issue considering we want Linux as a desktop to keep growing as it improves the lives of all having both more users, contributors, and devs building software.

The main reason I have stuck with Manjaro is that for the most part I dont have to mess with it. I have other computers I mess around with my main PC is where I go when I just want to surf the web, game, and just decompress.

• @throwawayish@lemmy.ml
      link
      fedilink
      210 months ago

I saw that there were some controversies but honestly if I avoided everything in my life over every little bit of bad press or disagreement I would have nothing left to eat and nowhere to live.

The choices we make and the actions we take mostly come with compromises anyway; just because it’s on topic: Manjaro probably continued to function as you were used to and thus you didn’t see any reason to change that which “just works”. Which, I somewhat alluded to in my earlier comment with:

the continued use of Manjaro is at least justifiable.

Moving on.