Recap. I’m a relative noob to linux, but have been trying it on and off since around 2005 when Ubuntu was first making waves, to test the viability of Linux as a Windows replacement for me personally. I’ve been documenting my relative impressions and process so far.

Day 1 - Nvidia driver issues and issues attaching a NAS drive.

Day 2 - Solved Nvidia issues with Pop!OS transition from Fedora (Nobara was totally non-functional for me), figured out NAS drive was sambav1 drive and was able to get those packages installed and enabled. Also solved external hdd connection issues with steam by using steam console to force the mounted drive, which is now working.

Which brings us to Day 3.

I wish I could say that solving those issues was the end of it, I wish I could say we were double rainbow gold across the board right now. But these things are not so.

Current issues plaguing me.

1. I have 2 ‘monitors’ one which is a samsung odyssey ultrawide. Obviously my primary for gaming and work. Mounted on the wall behind and over it is a 55in TV. It’s awesome cause they almost perfectly line up, but the 55in TV is a touch hard to read text on in 4k. So my usual solution is to set scaling on the second monitor to 150%. Initially I couldn’t figure it out, in windows the setting was under the Nvidia controls, in Linux it’s under the xorg config. After some fucking around I got it working!

Holy shit does that break things. Steam, which I have installed, and have installed a few games to my external HDD and local SSD for testing has a super weird error where the text and icons go absolutely nano, and even when you resize the screen the icons and text do not resize. I found a sort of fix, where you can add a manual entry to a steam file described here but while this did sorta fix it, the problem persisted in any window that steam launched like friends lists.