• Dariusmiles2123
    link
    fedilink
    English
    -505 hours ago

I’m a cop and I can tell you that, at least in my country, you’d have no reason to not unlock your phone if you haven’t done anything.

I can understand that in some countries cops can be seen as criminals (and are behaving like criminals), but I don’t think a generality should be made. Just like a generality shouldn’t be made about people from an origin all doing the same bad thing.

Also don’t take advices from what you see on Lemmy as every user comes from a different country with different laws.

In my country, we can take your phone but we aren’t allowed to unlock it without your consent or without a prosecutor saying so.

• southsamurai
      link
      fedilink
      English
      1146 minutes ago

Man, fuck that.

It’s none of your business what’s on our phones, period.

You want access? Go through due process.

The very fact that you led off with “you’re fine if you have nothing to hide” makes you the problem, you personally, not anyone else around you, you.

Doesn’t matter what country you’re in at all. Doesn’t even matter what the law says in this case, because crappy laws exist.

That kind of thinking is exactly why people don’t trust cops.

• @AlijahTheMediocre@lemmy.world
      link
      fedilink
      English
      62 hours ago

I don’t know why your getting downvoted and have replies with ACAB…

Keep in mind I come at this from an American perspective.

I do have to disagree with the first paragraph. You do not need to access to or to search my phone to perform your job. If the phone becomes part of a criminal investigation then ideally a warrant would be put out by a judge and a Computer Forensics team would take it from there.